Teacher of the Year Award

Since 2011, Touchstones has honored an educator in the U.S. or Canada for their work in the classroom. Thanks to Cynthia M. Barry, who first sponsored this award and who is herself a long-time Touchstones teacher, each year, we are able to recognize teacher leadership in schools located in the United States, Canada, and the Caribbean. This award was renamed for Geoffrey J. Comber in 2020, in honor of Touchstones’ co-founder and unfailing champion of teachers, who passed away in late 2019.

Educators may nominate themselves or be nominated by a colleague or supervisor for this award. Nominations are accepted in the summer and announced in the early fall. The winner of the award receives a cash prize of $250 and is honored at an awards ceremony. If you have questions about this award, please reach out to us at schoolprograms@touchstones.org.

Past Teacher of the Year Award Winners